How to Overcome Fear and Start your Business

FEAR is usually the limiting factor whenever we want to take a step in life and do something new. We are afraid of CHANGE because we are uncertain what the future holds.

download (7)

We are obviously not satisfied with where we are, we want more but we are not moving forward because of FEAR.

The amazing thing is that a lot of us keep on planning, saving, and waiting for the best time and there is nothing wrong with research and preparation friends. But at some point it’s got to stop.

At some point you’ve just got to dive in with both feet and commit.
I gave myself a lot of excuses before I started my first business. I told myself all sorts of things:
• I’m too young
• I don’t have enough money
• What if it doesn’t work (blah blah blah)

The same thing applies to a lot of people who are wondering, dreaming, planning, taking webinar notes and never taking a big, real, step. This makes me sad.

So, let me address some of the excuses I told myself and why you should kick your doubt to the curb.images (2)

I don’t know what I’m doing (Fear of the Unknown):

This is real!

I kept telling myself “Oh I have to take this course” or “That training” and I realized I kept on procrastinating and not starting so I didn’t do all the courses and training and then start up my business. I learnt enough to get me started and then I learnt on the go.

And let me tell you now, there is no better and faster way to learn then when you have to learn. Learn on the job. If you wait until you feel totally comfortable then you will never start.

Uncomfortable is good. It drives you; it motivates you to do better and learn more.
Being comfortable in business means that you are going to be left behind real quick. So don’t fear the panic, use the panic to make sure your business is the absolute best you can make it.

I don’t know what I want to do (Fear of Yourself):

This is where you know you have to get away from the crazy office environment. You know you want to work for yourself but you don’t quite know what to do.

There are a whole lot of people in this phase. I get emails everyday asking me this question.

images (3)

I have some good and bad news on this front.

The good news is that many, many entrepreneurs have been there. I know I have and I know many people, friends, mentors and idols that have all been down the same path.

The bad news is that, the only sure way of finding out whether something is for you, is to just do it. I know that sounds kind of difficult and very disheartening but let me say, even if you find out that business isn’t for you, your time won’t be wasted.

Fear of Finances:

Money is a practical consideration, so the answer here is some practical advice.

Make three lists.

  • Write down all the expenses that you need to get your business up and running right now. So for example, your website hosting is probably going to be included. When I calculated my startup expenses I calculated them for the year. Because in my mind, if I could afford all of them for the year right now and pay it all up front, then I was secure for 12 months.
  • Now, if you want to go further, write down all the expenses that your business doesn’t vitally need but will absolutely help it grow. I put all these things down for review at the three month mark. If I could generate enough traffic and interest in three months, then I would get a good idea that people were interested enough that it would make a good investment.
  • Finally, write down the income that you need to generate from your business. How much do you need to generate before you can leave your job? How much do you need to cover all your living expenses? Of course, you are not going to start making that kind of money straight away but I always find it useful to have a goal to work towards. And when you meet that goal? Move the goal posts!

Fear of failure:

Let me tell you now, I don’t have any statistics, but I know that there is no one in this world that hasn’t failed at something.

images (1)

Those massive, businesses and companies?

They have all failed.

The only difference between them and you is that fear of failure didn’t stop them trying. Failure itself didn’t stop them from trying again.

That there may be many people who know more than you about a topic, but you only need to know more about something than the person you are teaching. And that there is possibly one of the most inspiring bits of advice I’ve heard about business in a long while.

Conclusion

The very purpose of Elvaridah is build, inspire, coach and mentor potential and existing business owners and entrepreneurs.

And I very much hope that after reading this today that you will feel inspired to go out and create your own brand of awesomeness that we can all benefit from.

Download our free worksheets that include step by step tactics to overcoming Fear and finding your Purpose.

Overcoming Fear In Business (Worksheet)

Leave a Reply

